top of page
Search

Christmas in Nepal // Nadolig yn Nepal

Updated: Nov 15, 2019

Having the privilege of a North-Walian upbringing, I've always had an appreciation for nature. In recent years I have been living in Sheffield whilst completing my MEng degree in Chemical Engineering at the University of Sheffield. Being in my 4th and final year of study, I am filled with the excitement of starting my career, with the environment in the forefront of my mind.


Before that, though, I have another mountainous region calling for me...

On December 11th I will embark on my journey to Kathmandu. I am honoured to have the opportunity to be a part of the highly competitive course operated by 'The Green Program'. On this 10-day trip, I will spend 3 days in Kathmandu University, where I will study microgrid systems design (which is basically a fancy way of saying the design of small-scale energy systems), before travelling to rural Nepal to plan and install these energy devices.


Nepal was subject to a substantial earthquake, in 2015, reaching a magnitude of 7.8 on the Richter scale. As a result, 30% of the nation's energy infrastructure was impacted, from which they are still trying to recover. Our off-grid solar field will enable at least 400 students to have access to electricity. Not only will this improve their quality of life, but it will act as a basis for better resources to seek the education they truly deserve. Though we face plenty of our own issues in the UK, it is often easy to distract ourselves from the certain 'baseline' privileges that come along with our citizenship.


I cannot wait to get stuck into this project, to learn more about the benefits of replacing fossil fuel derivatives with renewable energy sources, and to see first-hand the positive impact we can make on this earth.


In all honesty, when I was accepted on to this program, I was filled simultaneously with feelings of excitement and apprehension. Despite the numerous benefits I have listed above, this opportunity certainly comes with a daunting price-tag (which doesn't include the flights). However, I couldn't let such a rare experience slip through my fingers and I decided that I would find a way to get myself to Kathmandu so I can make my impact. Luckily, there were two 'Shine On' scholarships available for women in STEM, which would cover half of the fee, and I won one of them which was a great start. I am so proud to be a woman in my field of study, and am filled with gratitude to live in an era where there are so many opportunities to aid women on their journeys, in every industry. As far as the rest of the fee was concerned, this was the first time in my life where I've found myself creating a fundraising campaign, and the challenge excited me. Earning my sponsorship took me back into the mountains of Snowdonia, where my environmental ambition all began and I (somehow) managed to complete the '15 peaks', or the 'Welsh 3000s'. The past year has certainly been a whirlwind for me, and I can honestly say that I have been overwhelmed with everyone's engagement with this journey of mine. The generosity I have been shown has been truly incredible, and I am in constant awe of the fact that a combination of determination and kindness can have such wonderful outcomes. Without all of you, I would not have been able to make this dream of mine a reality. You have enabled me to take my first steps in my ambition to better the quality of life for as many people as I can in this lifetime, and for that, I am truly grateful.


I hope my story inspires you to have a look at what actions you're taking to ensure a bright future for the global population, for generations to follow, and for the state of the environment. Even sharing a smile can make a world of a difference...



43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page